#irene – My selection of the best Hurricane Irene tweets

August 29, 2011 at 8:50 am 1 comment

Note – I don’t normally insert Read More breaks, but I have for this post, because it’s very long, and it would have flooded up my homepage if I didn’t.

Hurricane Irene stirred up a flurry of tweets as it made its way to New York. Every few minutes, my stream would refresh, and I’d see more and more tweets pertaining to the hurricane. Most of them were extremely comedic, poking fun at the hurricane and the situations it caused. In fact, I dare say it didn’t seem like the New Yorkers were scared at all.

For those who haven’t been keeping up with the news, those who aren’t on Twitter, and those who simply want to have a nice laugh, here are my selections of the best Hurricane Irene tweets. Be warned: ‘Tis a lot.

Cute.

I highly doubt you’ll find flying cars in them.

The only person (if you can call the account that) I’ll have to unfollow is @Hurricane_Irene.

“Historic”, indeed.

Yum!

(Foursquare has badges you can unlock as you check-in to different places. Thus, this is a #foursquarereference)

AKC. Always Keep Charged. Cause you never know.

Guess nobody volunteered to share their password with this poor guy.

Maybe it does. Wet cat paw prints around the house.

i.e., the SUN.

Una parodia en Español. Que es un accidente!

Ohhhkkaaayyyy…

BOOM!

Flooding in the jeeps…get it?

It’s always the best for Apple, they’ll never take anything lesser.

OMG. Threat level ORANGE. Imagine that.

(Dennis Crowley is the only New Yorker I follow on Twitter. So sorry.)

Hopefully you won’t find sharks swimming down there…look below.

No. First there was Earthquakepocalypse, then there was Hurricanepocalypse, now there’s Tornadopocalypse (there’s a tornado watch or warning in effect for NY, can’t remember which one).

That’s like saying, “Why do we have to change the water in fishbowls? They haven’t finished drinking it!”

I wouldn’t mind doing that.

That is an insanely good bit of advice. I got spammed a lot after sending out my Hurricane Irene tweets.

And we were expecting Category Four.

I will not be flooding up my blog with Hurricane Irene related tweets, though if you’re interested in reading more, you can click here for the whole Twitter stream on #irene, and here for the stream on #HurricaneIrene. I hoped you had a laugh from the tweets I did post here.

On a personal note, my aunt Maggie lives in New York City. I still don’t fully know the extent of the damage there, although she did report a potted plant falling from a windowsill above her. I don’t think she would have noticed anything else; the time I called her, she was sitting on the floor watching Independence Day with friends and yelling, “It ain’t over till the fat lady sings!”

How did I help during Hurricane Irene? Well, I sent out forecast maps and satellite images of it, and emailed them to my aunt in NYC, who passed them on. They’re retrievable from the NOAA site, http://www.noaa.gov.

Despite the light-hearted attitude of most people during the hurricane, it still inflicted quite a lot of damage and people were killed because of it. The current count is 21. I ask you to keep them and their families in your prayers.

I also want to say that today, August 30th, was the day Hurricane Katrina made landfall. Please observe a moment of silence in memory of all those that died because of it. Hurricane Katrina was one of the deadliest hurricanes in United States history, and we all know how many losses we suffered because of it.

I will leave you with one last laugh.

(PS – Also check out this Business Insider article if you’re not having a stomach ache already and are up for more laughs.)

PPS -

Entry filed under: Current Events, Hurricane Irene, Technology, Twitter, Twitter Trends, Web. Tags: , , , , , , .

Been on vacation! The Laughing Heart

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

21 year old college student studying criminal psychology, forensic science, and linguistics. Part time freelancing graphic/web designer and developer. Italian-American. Lives in Long Beach, CA. Loves coffee, technology, and other stuff.

My Profile

I'm not a cat. I'm a human with the ability to stand upright. Thank you.

Stumblers

  • 19,543 views

You will be notified when there is a new post on Ashley's blog via email.

Join 11 other followers

Look back in time…

Contact

If you'd like to contact Ashley for any reason, send an email to ashleylynnsand - at - gmail - dot - com. This is a work and public email address. Emails might be forwarded to or replied to from another email address, also owned by Ashley.

Copyright

All content copyright Ashley Lynn Sanders nee Hawkins 2012. No content from this blog may be reproduced without the prior written permission of the author. All rights reserved. The author hereby waives her rights to any third-party work on this blog. Aforementioned work shall be duly credited and a link back to the source shall be provided. Works on this blog reproduced in any other form with permission of the owner require a link or citation back to the original source.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

